Learn About Cub Scouts
MyCouncil®  |  Cart (0)  |  Join  |  Sign In


For Boys & Girls in Grades K - 5

Cub Scouting is fun! No matter what grade you are in, kindergarten through fifth,
it can be a blast. Do you like to learn by doing? This is just the place.
You can learn to tie knots, set up a tent, or shoot a bow and arrow (archery).
Have you ever cooked a meal on a campfire? Sent a secret code to a buddy?
Built a birdhouse? Hiked? Earn rewards for doing these things in Cub Scouts.

The Cub Scout Ranks

Adventures form the backbone of the new Cub Scout program.
They’re fun, engaging and offer the right amount of challenge for boys as they grow up.

The loops and pins offer immediate recognition, meaning Scouts get a tangible link
between completing an adventure and receiving a reward.

Cub Scouts must complete seven adventures for each rank, but the number of 
those adventures that are electives increases as the Scout gets older. 
In other words, Cubmasters, den leaders and the Scouts themselves get more choice
over which adventures they complete as they advance through Cub Scouting.

What is Cub Scouting?

Cub Scouts do fun things with other kids!
They get to wear a cool uniform, go places,
and see things. They play all kinds of sports
and build things, like race cars and bird houses.
Want to learn a secret code?
Want to learn about wild animals?

Go Cub Scouting!

Things Cub Scouts Do

Some of the best things about Cub
Scouting are the activities you get to
do: camping, hiking, racing model cars,
going on field trips, or doing projects
that help your hometown and the
people who live there.

Cub Scouting means “doing.”

How Cub Scouting Works

When you see someone in a uniform,
you know that person belongs to a specific
group. A police officer wears a uniform,
and so does a doctor or a firefighter.

As a Cub Scout, you will wear a uniform too.

The Cub Scout Uniform

The Cub Scout uniform has the following parts:

1. Shirt—The official uniform shirt is available with long or short sleeves and has button-flap pockets and “Boy Scouts of America” lettered in gold above the right pocket.

2. Trousers or shorts—Official blue.

3. Belt—Official navy-blue web belt with metal buckle and Tiger, Cub Scout, or Webelos Scout emblem.

4. Socks—Official socks are available in three lengths: ankle, crew, and knee. Tigers’ socks are navy blue with orange tops. Cub Scouts’ socks are navy blue with gold tops.

5. Cap—Official navy-blue cap with orange front panel and tiger cub emblem for Tigers; yellow panel and wolf emblem for Wolf Scouts; blue panel and bear emblem for Bear Scouts. Webelos Scouts wear an olive cap with a plain panel bearing the Webelos logo.

6. Neckerchief—Triangular neckerchief is orange with navy-blue trim for Tigers, gold with navy-blue trim for Wolf Scouts, light blue with navy-blue trim for Bear Scouts, and plaid for Webelos Scouts. Official BSA neckerchiefs are the only neckerchiefs that boys should wear. Packs should not make their own pack neckerchiefs.

7. Neckerchief slide—Official gold-tone metal slide with the Tiger, Cub Scout, or Webelos Scout logo. Boys may wear handmade neckerchief slides.

Are you ready to join Cub Scouts?

Copyright © 2018 Washington Crossing Council, Boy Scouts of America. All rights reserved
Web Site Powered By ScoutTools®